In Awe….

Today I’ve slowed down. Today feels like a really great day to reflect on a busy month. There have been many beautiful things happen in the last month that I know are being organized by something greater then me and I’m in awe of that power. It kinda feels like after this long cold winter, spring has arrived inside of me too and if I let it, it will bloom in amazing ways.

I have met some absolutely wonderful women and am building friendships with people who share my passions and understand my life. I have always felt blessed by the special friendships in my life, and now even more so. To be surrounded by amazing neighbors, to meet fascinating birth professionals, and to see my children grow in their friendships is so special.

As I look back over the past month I see gatherings of friends, Doula presentations, playdates, baby visits, newspaper articles (Yes, one more for Red Deer coming April 23), networking of professionals, visits with the elderly, connecting with my hubby,  ladies nights, family gatherings and as the sunshine finally starts to melt the snow, a new found hope and energy for challenges in my days.

But this last week has special importance to me. Last week we said goodbye to a wonderful lady of almost 95years. Dean’s grandma had a long beautiful life, suffered very little and was visited by those important to her in her last few days. Only in the last few years was she in need of minimal care. She was a strong women, born in a blizzard one evening in 1919 at home, a premie, whom when the doctor saw her said she might not make it. But she proved them wrong, and I think her whole life she was an amazing women. So we say goodbye and celebrate her life.

And just as the saying goes the circle of life continues, I received an important call. An unexpected call as it came much sooner then anticipated. Last week I was told my certification is complete, and I can now call myself a Certified Birth Doula. I can now present myself as Christa Duquette – CD(DONA) – meaning Certified Doula with Doulas Of North America.  A new  chapter of my life is beginning as someone else’s comes to a close. How can we not be in awe of that?

Life is strange, sometimes we feel like we will not survive the winter, and other times the sky opens up and shines down on us. If we can only remember in the dark that the light will shine again, then we can get through that dark. I am now continuing on my journey of life, of careers, of motherhood, of marriage and of friendships. I feel like I can let it just be and go the path I am meant to for I am being guided and I want that to continue. I want to grow in knowledge, in peace, and in passion. I hope to see my business grow so that I can reach more women and their families and serve them in the way I am meant to do.

In honour of my celebration of a life, of my certification and my new business plan, today I donated to a cause that spoke to my heart. Samaritans purse allows you to gift to certain areas of service and this one spoke to me:

Provide critical prenatal care for expectant mothers.
1 Safe Birthing kit for a birth attendent in a remote community
Medical training for a birth attendant or local midwife
As I begin my journey as a Certified Doula, I want to know that I have helped someone else on their own journey through my donation.
Thank you so much for all your support, thank you friends and family and especially my husband. I look forward to the years to come. Today I feel renewed and peaceful. What a wonderful day for reflection and celebration. Easter is around the corner and I think it will have even more meaning for me this year! Cheers!
3 thoughts on “In Awe….

  1. I am so proud of you. You are also gifted with being able to express yourself very well. Blessings on you now and forever.

Leave a Reply

