Before the rush..

Yes it has been a very long time since I’ve sat here to write. My focus has been on a project two years in the making, and yesterday I mailed my certification package away. I hope to hear news in a few months. But as I worked on that,  life still went along. Kids in school, laundry, snow outside, playdates and visits with friends, family, sports and all of the things that fill our day. So much to share, but so little time in the day. Inspiration came to me today as I felt I wanted to write this:

Before the Rush.

I sit here now and all is quiet

but I know well enough it won’t last.

The day will begin be it warm or cold

and my little ones will wake with adventure to behold.

 

What will be in store for them today?

What will come for me today?

I think of all the things we need to do

I wonder what mischief and joys we’ll get into.

 

How many toys and dishes will I clean up,

How many loads of clothes,

but more importantly

How many hugs and kisses and tickle of toes?

 

My mind wanders off to a place up ahead

To the future of life for my children.

Where my grand-kids run and play

and listen eagerly to hear what I have to say.

 

Our world is forever changing,

Life brings us challenges

I hope that my kids can learn and grow

as their experiences teach them all they need to know.

 

Lessons can come in profound moments

taking your breath away,

or they can be simple and kind

reminding you the joys in life you can find.

 

Before the rush of the day begins

I take a moment to quietly listen

What is my heart saying to me?

That today is a blessing, if only I’ll just let it be.

 

Leave a Reply

