Days gone by

Today as the year 2013 grows to a close, I took a moment to look up the history and words to the song Auld Lang Syne. At New Years when I hear this song it fills me with warmth and has become a tradition to me as I’m sure to many others as well. But I never really knew the words, so thank goodness for google.  Two verses caught my attention and I really liked them.

We too have run around the slopes

And picked the daisies fine

We’ve wandered many weary foot

Since auld lang syne

For auld lang syne, my dear,
For auld lang syne,
We’ll take a cup o’ kindness yet,
For auld lang syne

We too have paddled in the stream
From morning sun to night
But the seas between us broad have roared
From auld lang syne

“Auld Lang Syne” is very widely used to symbolise “endings/new beginnings”, hence why it is sung on New Years. I also learned just what Auld Lang Syne means… It can be translated different ways, but some common ones are; days gone by, long long ago, old times.
The song now has more meaning to me and I will make an effort to learn the words better instead of just singing the chorus.

I will look fondly on the memories 2013 held for us. The joys, the laughs, the challenges, the growth and the love we shared. Our friends and family made this year wonderful and that is such a blessing. I look eagerly to  2014 to see what it brings, but will not forget the days gone by and how they helped bring me to where I am today.

So here is a toast to 2014, as we think back to all the memories of 2013, of those days gone by, may they warm your heart, give you hope and bring you joy as you move forward into the New Year.

Cheers My Friends!

Be safe!

Leave a Reply

